Season 2 of T10 Cricket League gains momentum with Team Draw led by Kerala Kings and Punjabi Legends

T10 Cricket League – the world’s first 10-over cricket league sancionted by the International Cricket Council, starts Season 2 with the Team Draw led by Kerala Kings and Punjabi Legends – the Champions and Runners-up teams of the first T10 League.

Eight teams – Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons – have been drawn in to two groups to fight it out in the 2nd Season of T10 Cricket League from November 23 to December 2 – the UAE National Day.

T10 Cricket League was launched last year by T10 Sports Management to popularise the game of cricket in its shortest format – that concludes within less than two hours in which two teams bat it out in ten overs – or just 60 balls – thrilling the crowd.

Preparation for the Second Season of the T10 Cricket League stars following the runaway success of the first Season that drew a large crowd at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium and watched by fans across the GCC, South Asia and parts of the African continent where cricket is a popular sport.

The event takes place at the backdrop of the recent recognition by the International Cricket Council (ICC) the global governing body of cricket – that makes it the world’s first ten-over format league.

This year, two teams – The Karachians and Northern Warriors – have been added to the list of the earlier six teams. This will expand the support and fan base of the T10 Cricket League.

“The T10 Cricket League is gaining ground with the formal recognition of the International Cricket Council and the interest shown by the stakeholders that encouraged us to add two new teams to the league,” Nawab Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman of T10 Cricket League and T10 Sports Management, said.

“Today’s Team Draw is a testimony to the growing popularity of not only the T10 Cricket League – but also the game of cricket – which could now be played and in less than two hours. I am pleased to announce the Team Draw led by last year’s Champions Kerala Kings and Runners-Up Punjabi Legends.

“This year’s T10 Cricket League will help expand and popularise the game of cricket further. We see this as a growing movement and I urge all to join this and help take the game further.”

The Team Draw – an important part of the tournament – will decide which team will play against which ones in the league and then develop their winning strategies.

The Team Draw will be followed by a Player’s Draw taking place a few weeks’ later that will see the world’s top cricketers being selected by the eight teams – from a pool of cricketing legends.

Salman Iqbal, President of the T10 Cricket League, said, “Team Draw is very crucial for each team in their journey to the top. Today’s Team Draw will help the teams to plan their team formation and strategy, going forward.

“Cricket is being re-invented in the UAE and the T10 Cricket League is at the forefront of this journey. We are getting a large crowd joining us in this great journey where we hope to break new grounds with many more surprises to come.”

About T10 Cricket League

T10 Cricket League is a professional ten-over format Cricket League launched and owned by T10 Sports Management. It is approved by the Emirates Cricket Board and the International Cricket Council. It is the first ever internationally ten-over format approved league.

Matches have 10-over-a-side format and duration of 90 minutes.

​​The tournament is played over ten days, with a round robin followed by semi-finals and the final. The 2017 edition was played from 14-17 December at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. The League was founded by Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman of the T10 League. The President and Partner of the League is Salman Iqbal. In August 2018, the International Cricket Council (ICC) officially sanctioned the league.

Related posts